Prednisone mania

Prednisone
I’ve taken prednisone for ulcERative colitis on and off over the years since I was a teenager.It caused me mania, depression, weight gain, bone trouble, etc–Thank goodness I haven’t suffered blindness from it.But it stopped the diarrhea almost immediately.I was taking 40mg at most until I stabilized.Then I was weaned off of it each time.I’d check out the side effects.Anyway, now I’m taking balsalazide, calcium with vitamin D3, folic acid, and a whole bunch of other stuff for other things.But one of those things is probiotics.I believe they work as well as the prednisone, but without the serious side effects.My doctor originally gave me AlignGi, but it didn’t do anything for me.So I tried a probiotic with 66 billion organisms, and that works for me.I had had trouble with the u.c.before the probiotic for 3 years, including diarrhea every day of last year.As soon as I started the probiotic, my stools showed marked improvement and normalized finally within a short amount of time!I have been able to eat small portions of ripe raw fruit again, and I can tolerate small portions of cooked vegetables again.Yay!(The funny thing is that after having had diarrhea for so long, regular bowel movements felt like constipation!I go to the bathroom only 1 time a day now.)Reluctantly, I gave up milk, cream, ice cream, and coffee, and replaced them with either soy milk, almond milk, hemp milk, or rice milk–all of them fortified with vitamins and minerals.I drink chamomile tea or green tea.I drink plenty of water.When I was a teenager, many long years ago, my doctors gave me and u.c.the WORST prognosis.
Prednisone mania
But I proved them wrong.For LIVE support groups, I go to http://www.ccfa.org meetings.I find them helpful hearing what other people are going through as well.And instant feedback is nice.Anyway, I hope all goes well for you.Get better soon!Lar .My Disease is from the bottom of my stomach throughout the small and then onto the large.the most widespread they have ever seen it in some one so young in the crohns zone ( not quite 5 years).I hate to say it but I have been and am very sick right now.I am rushing to the bathroom about every hour or or sooner..actually fell asleep there last night because I took my pillow with me.Its bad and I know its bad when my GI calls me to check on me and hates the sound of my voice so he comes to my house.I live in a huge city and its a large practice and I am the first patient he has ever made a house call for.( no insurance is why and he knew I would not come in) He looked at me with tears in his eyes and said he was so sorry it was so out of control.( HE is not a mushy guy..i’m just that sick) so I know I am beyond sick enough to warrent the pred but I will not take it.I feel crazy and at least with the pain etc I know I am normal in my head.Doc understands and feels awful because Cimza is $$$ and not an option to those without insurance..and the very $$ drugs are my only option.He knows the anemia is creeping up again and said NOT to play around with that and go to the ER ( call him on my way and he will meet me there) and I will get the transfusion..can’t pay for it..but without it I will die..no choice.I just pray that the company takes my husband out of the Temp to hire pool and offers him a company position with insurance Like I said ICU will be the only place for pred for me.
See also: Can women use rogaine foam. Last night I went over to my friends house to play guitars. I usually get his wife to braid my hair because a…
Prednisone

This entry was posted in Prednisone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment